Friday, May 27, 2016

Captain America Civil War by Chris Wyatt

I can't find anything good to say about this book. It has barely any plot- just action, action, action and poorly written even though it says it's for 5th graders.

Rating: 1 By: Nate Age: 10
The Marvels by Brian Selznick

I love the story and how the plot made sense from the beginning to the end. The book was a real page turner and kept me up at night. The cool thing about the book is that the first half of the book is made up of drawings by the author and they clearly show you the stories of the Marvels. Then the last half of the book is all words and chapters. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants a good sized story. Its long and thick but worth it when you finish it. When I was reading it felt like the characters were real and existed.

Rating: 4.5 By: Colin Age: 12
The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

"The One and Only Ivan," is about a Gorilla that does so much to help and get his friends to a zoo and stop getting almost beaten by a claw stick. I extremely liked this book, truthfully it made me cry. One of Ivan, the Gorilla's, friends dies he does everything to make the other new Elephant named Ruby get to the zoo to have a better life with no beating. I would recommend this book to people who like animals and want to see how it is living in a cage, or if you just want to try something new.

Rating: 4 By: Sadie Age: 12
Identical by Ellen Hopkins

Identical by Ellen Hopkins is a fantastic book. Being an Ellen Hopkins fan, I was not surprised that this book was fantastic. It is about teenage identical twins and how they survive in a broken home. This book will not let you put it down. It is similar to most other books by this author, especially the Crank series.

Rating: 5 By: Lia Age: 13

Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Leven Thumps and the Eyes of the Want (#3) by Obert Skye

In Leven Thumps and the Eyes of the Want, The main character Leven, goes on another fantastic journey across Foo, to capture the whispered secret. And to get the key back.Will he get the secret? Will he get the key back?

Rating: 5 By: Abigail Age: 14
Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles
Alex and Brittany are polar opposites from the rich and poor sides of town. They get paired up to be Chemistry partners and many secrets are told to each other and they start figuring out who they are and want to be during this assignment for Hand Warmers. I really liked this book because it is like a modern Romeo and Juliet. Simone Elkeles really got into detail on the gang parts and I like how she described everything realistically. I recommend this book to anyone who like romance books with some intense and more mature parts in it. Including gangs, drug dealing, and more.

Rating: 4 By: Sadie Age:12
From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg


I liked this book because Claudia wanted to be different and the museum helped because when she returned she felt different and she had a secret.

Rating: 4 By: Sydney Age: 10
The Peculiar by Stefan Bachmann
This book is a truly PECULIAR book. Bartholomew is a changeling that was in a secret compartment of the attic looking out a window when he sees his friend stolen from his home. Meanwhile a Gentleman finds that changelings are being killed. That have red markings all over and are hollow. Can he find a solution? This book drew me in and I couldn't put down the book. I really suggest you read this book.

Rating: 3.5 By: Mica Age: 11
The Fate of Ten by Pittacus Lore
This book was just as good as the others in the series. It was action filled and I loved it.

Rating: 4.5 By: Audrey Age:13

Sunday, May 22, 2016

Kalahari by Jessica Khoury
25431243.jpg (317×475)
A young girl named Sarah, the daughter of zoologists, is in charge of keeping four other teenagers alive and lead them to safety, they are stranded in the Kalahari desert without a guide. They are battling dehydration and starvation, Sarah tries her best to hold it together.
They're on an adventure but soon a vicious silver lion, unprovoked attack on the group. After they barely escape the attack, they discover the truth behind the lion's silver sheen, a dangerously and deadly virus that will spread throughout the entire area, and kill anyone it gets close to.
Sarah and the others must outrun not only the virus but also it's creators, who will not stop at nothing to wipe out every trace of it. The group comes across terrible and life threatening situations that they can not stop at and prey for their lives, they have to keep moving at any situation.

Rating: 4 By: Haley Age: 13
I Survived the Hindenburg Disaster by Lauren Tarshis
51aT5d9cqTL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg (232×346)
Hugo's family was taking a three day journey to America flying on the Hindenburg zeppelin. Hugo explores the zeppelin when he goes to find the family dog to cheer up his sister. He helped an American spy escape the Nazis. Suddenly as they get ready to land a fire breaks out and Hugo has to escape it. I recommend this book.

Rating: 4 By: Connor Age: 10
The Crown by Kiera Cass
1450275905025 (678×1024)
I loved this book, I was sad it was the last book of The Selection series, but I'm glad it ended the way it did. I highly suggest this book for anybody!

Rating: 5 By: Torria Age: 13
Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter
Cross_My_Heart_and_Hope_to_Spy.gif (150×225)
The book "Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy" is a spectacular book full of mystery and cool gadgets. It's a well written book. I'd like to see a series!

Rating: 4 By: Nathaniel Age: 10
The Elementia Chronicles Book Two: The New Order by Sean Fay Wolfe
51NcV8AryDL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg (233×346)
As Stan and his friends fight the most fearsome battle in all of Minecraft they are going to meet a lot of traitors and followers. I rated this book a five out of five book because it had more action and anticipation than the last book. I did not have as much vocabulary than the last book witch means that it is easier for younger kids to read. I would suggest this book to any readers that like Minecraft or just like to read action packed books for fun. The plot to this story was dead on as well. There were many losses in this book and if you can connect with the the characters very well then I would not read this in public or at school.

Rating: 5 By: Kaden Age: 11

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
HungergamesCover.jpg (795×1200)
The Hunger Games would be a book I would recommend to people who don't mind violence and non-justice. The book has lots of action and is slightly tragic.

Rating: 5 By: Pallen Age: 11
The Siren by Kiera Cass
Siren+Cover (530×800)
This is a great book with a compelling story line. It's not your ordinary story of star-crossed love. Impossible events take place, and impossible answers are found. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoyed books like "The Fault in our Stars" or "The Selection" and anyone who likes reading fantasy/romance. As it says on the cover of the book, "A girl with a secret. The boy of her dreams. An ocean between them."

Rating: 5 By: Molly Age: 13
The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore
Power-of-Six-HC-hc-c.jpg (1679×2550)
I loved the first book and I love this one too. It is very suspenseful just like the previous one and there is a certain attraction of knowing that every new page holds a different surprise.

Rating: 4 By: Audrey Age: 13
Go Ask Alice by Beatrice Sparks
Goaskalicsedfs.jpg (357×500)
Go Ask Alice is an amazing book. It shows the horrible side of drugs when everything can go wrong. It pulls you in because it could have ended at anytime, but then more and more interesting things happened. It was not a happy book even with so many happy moments. The whole thing seemed very eerie. I would recommend this book to anyone who has read the Crank series by Ellen Hopkins.

Rating: 4.5 By: Lia Age: 13
Brave Like my Brother by Marc Tyler Nobleman
51BSOPCxAiL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg (331×499)
I personally recommend this book because of its cliff hangers and the characters personality. And the part when Joe is trying to catch the German spy makes you wonder if everything will be ok.
Rating: 4 By: Roman Age: 10
I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore
I_Am_Number_Four_Cover.jpg (300×454)
I absolutely loved this book!!! It was incredibly well written with everything from suspense to romance. I finished it in about 5 hours and immediately had to go to get the next book in the series. I will say that I tried reading this book around a year ago and I hated it. So this goes to show that maybe it is for older audiences or people who enjoy violence, mystery, and love.

Rating: 5 By: Audrey Age: 13
Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai
9780061962783.jpg (429×648)
I would recommend this book because it is a very inspiring book. This inspired me to believe in myself no matter what is going on and that I will always have my family supports even when they are not right next to me. The book also inspired me to achieve my dreams and to never give up. This was a poetry book so it was really quick to read. While reading the book I was pulled into the book and i felt as if I were right there next to her and at the end I was still thinking about the book for about 2 hours later. It was just so hard to forget about.

Rating: 4 By: Luna Age: 11
Attack on Titan chapter 1 by Hajime Isayama
13154150.jpg (318×474)
I love this book. It is manga so if you want to read it make sure to check if you like it or not. It has lots of adult content, I would not recommend it for under 6th grade. The manga goes on for a while, so be prepared for an amazing adventure in the world of Attack on Titan.

Rating: 5 By: Caeley Age: 13
Fugitives by Alexander Gordon Smith
71NQ-eJZESL.jpg (668×1000)
This was a good book and full of suspense and action. I think that if you like the science fiction genre then I recommend you read this book.

Rating: 5 By: Rock Age: 11
I Survived the Hindenburg Disaster  By Lauren Tarshis
51aT5d9cqTL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg (232×346)
I like it a lot. Because it was so exciting and crazy. A lot changes during the next chapter.

Rating: 4 By: Aiden Age: 10

Lockdown by Alexander Gordon Smith
51thzNM4YML._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg (231×346)
I liked this book because it had a lot of action which I enjoy in books. It was a new series that I enjoy just after reading the first book.

Rating: 4 By: Rock Age: 11
Death Sentence by Alexander Gordon Smith
furnaceus3.jpg (530×800)

This was a great book in my opinion. With all the action and suspense made me really like. Also I am into the science fiction genre so this book really appealed to me.

Rating: 4 By: Rock Age: 11

Saturday, May 21, 2016

Burned by Ellen Hopkins

Burned by Ellen Hopkins is a fantastic book. Being a huge fan of Ellen Hopkins, I was a little disappointed by the beginning. For the first 50 pages it was boring. It seemed like a very slow story about a reserved religious girl. It is much more than that. I would suggest this book for anyone and everyone over the age of 10. It has some action, some drama, even some parts that seem like horror. It progressed fantastically with ups and downs and what seemed like the perfect ending was just the beginning of another up. This was an amazing book.

Rating: 4 By: Lia Age: 13
Independant Study byJoelle Charbonneau

This book is great! I wouldn't say it is as good as the first book in the series though.

Rating: 4     by: Anna     Age:  11
The Trials of Apollo by Rick Riordan

In my opinion this was an excellent book. This is all depending on what type of books you are into. Personally I enjoy mythology so I was compelled to read this book.

Rating: 5 By: Rock Age: 11
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. Rowling
A amazing and magical book.

Rating: 5 By: Nate Age: 10
Stone Fox by John Gardiner

I liked this book and gave it a 4. My mom, dad, little brother, and myself read this book and were surprised at the ending. This book is about a boy and his grandfather who run a potato farm. The boy needs to raise money to save the farm and enters a dog race. I liked this book because I thought there was a lot of feeling in the book and lessons learned. My favorite character was the dog, Searchlight, that was the boy's best friend.

Rating: 4 By: Kortlan Age: 10

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Eragon by Christopher Paolini

I would have to say this book is one of the most amazing books I have ever read. I would recommend this book to people who read The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings. It has lots of magic and fantasy creatures in it. Don't forget the battles and deaths. Read sci-fi fans.

Rating: 5 By Caeley Age 13
The Elementia Chronicals - Book One:  Quest for Justice    by Sean Fry Wolfe
Image result for the elementia chronicles
This book explains how Stan and his two unlikely friends are on a quest for justice in Elementia. I rated this book a five out of five book because it had a huge out line and the word choice was outstanding. The plot didn't go in different directions and tons of conflicts between the characters. It had a great description of all the characters and gives depth to the setting and all the emotions and thoughts of the characters. My favorite part was the ending but I don't want to spoil it. There was no problem with fluency in the sentence structor what so ever. I am a minecraft fan and I know a lot of the meanings of things that are mentioned in this book. This book is non-fiction but the sever that the three players were on is real. I recommend that you read this book because it is a great challenge.

Rating: 5 By Kaden Age 12
Unbecoming by Jenny Downham

I enjoyed this book as a quick, intriguing read. It didn't take me too long to finish and I didn't dread having to read it. I would recommend it for older ages such as 7th grade and above. It included lots of aspects of teenage life and struggles, but also had some gentle sides. It was good, but I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who has trouble reading slow books. What I mean by that is books that don't progress quickly, and with not a lot of action. Also, the plot doesn't build so it's hard to figure out what the whole point of the book actually is.

Rating: 3 By: Audrey Age: 13

Monday, May 9, 2016

The Crown by Kiera Cass

Since I am in absolute LOVE with the Selection series, I obviously loved this book and would recommend it to anyone who loves romance and suspense along with action. I believe the most compelling aspect of this book is how it draws its readers in with such grace just like the royalty content. Although I would say, do not read this book without reading the rest before. It just wouldn't make sense.

Rating: 5 By Audrey Age: 13

Saturday, May 7, 2016

Speak    By Laurie Halse Anderson

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson is an intriguing novel about the journey of a girl named Malinda as she goes through her first year of high school. This book was hard to get into, but once I got about halfway through, I couldn't stop reading. It tries to lour you in with some hints and clues about why Melinda has become so quiet and introverted, but not enough until the middle to get you really interested. Overall it was a really good book.

Rating: 4 By: Lia Age:13
The Chocoloate Touch      By Patrick Skene Catling 
The Chocolate Touch
This is a story about John Midas a boy who has a chocolate touch. This means every time he touches something with his lips or hands it turns into chocolate. I like the book because, it was interesting, funny and I had a lot of predictions that some actually happened. I'm glad I don't have the touch because I don't like chocolate.

Rating: 4 By: Kortlan Age: 10
Esio Trot by Roald Dahl

What I thought about the book was that it was funny and I had a lot of predictions and I thought it was really good. You should try reading it has a really good ending when Mrs. Sliver and Mr. Hoppy get... Read the book to find what happens!

Rating: 4         By: Kortland    Age: 10